Tuesday, October 7, 2014

The Unforgivable Fix, by T.E. Woods

When Mort wants to walk away from his past, but his top priority needs to be keeping his daughter safe.  Despite the fact that he had not been in contact with her for some time, when she comes to him for help.  Mort knows that his only hope for keeping her safe is The Fixer, but this might not be something even The Fixer can fix.

I continue to be enamored with this series.  I think the writing is really solid; I feel like I know the recurring characters well at this point, but the new characters, including the new villains, continue to be well developed and keep things fresh.  The plot is fast paced, and full of twists, so it really kept me guessing all the way through, just like her books have in the past.  

I really like that Lydia's character continues to develop through the series.  We learn more of her history and backstory, and I personally felt like it helped me connect better to her character.  This series continues to be solid, yet still surprises me and catches me off guard.  Which is a very good thing indeed.

I received a review copy courtesy of TLC Book Tours in exchange for my honest review.  See the rest of the tour here.

Friday, October 3, 2014

Lust: Poems, by Diana Raab

Everyone lusts for something.  A lover,  Acceptance.  A better life.  In this poetry anthology, the poet explores feelings of lust, in contrast to feelings of love, and that longing to just live life on one's own terms.

I feel wholly unqualified to critique a book of poetry.  As a literary form, it is quite different from what I am used to.  No real character development, no plot in the way you typically think of plot.  I know absolutely nothing about poetic form.  All I know is whether or not poetry speaks to my soul.  At times, this book absolutely shouted, and at times, it barely whispered.

Erotica is something that quickly loses its novelty with me, particularly erotic poetry.  So, it did not take long for my eyes to sort of glaze over as I read this anthology.  That is, until I got so some poems that dealt with body image framed in the context of sexuality.  Those poems, in particular, really stuck out to me, and connected deeply.  Regardless of whether I feel connected to the content matter or not, I do feel qualified to say that this anthology of poetry is fearless, and more honest that many people feel comfortable with.  For that, I am truly glad to have read it.

I received a review copy courtesy of TLC Book Tours in exchange for my honest review.  See the rest of the tour here.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I Shall Be Near to You, by Erin Lindsay McCabe

Rosetta always preferred the more manly chores on her family's farm, being outdoors and doing physical work.  When her sweetheart decides to enlist in the Union army to fight in the Civil War, Rosetta convinces him to marry her before leaving.  She then disguises herself as a man, and enlists in the same unit as her husband.  Reinventing herself as Ross, she finds herself fighting as well as any man, for the sake of her country as well as her family.

I have been on a huge Civil War kick lately, ever since I visited Gettysburg this summer, so this book was right up my alley.  This book was really fascinating, not only thanks to the beautiful writing, but to the fact that this fictional story was based on actual women who fought in the Civil War.  The research behind the book was solid, and allowed me to be completely absorbed into the story.

I thought the writing in the book was just gorgeous.  I adored Rosetta as a character, and I admired her spirit.  I felt like I was able to connect to her adoration of her husband, and her desire to follow him to the ends of the world.  The book will appeal to fans of historical fiction and romance, but I think that in all reality this is the kind of book that would still appeal to fans of general contemporary fiction who tend to shy away from historical books.  While the historical aspect is a huge part of the story, it does not overshadow the book.  One does not need to be a Civil War buff to appreciate the beauty of this book.

I received a review copy courtesy of TLC Book Tours in exchange for my honest review.  See the rest of the tour here.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

The Night Visitor, by Dianne Emley

Rory had a very glamorous life, one that anyone would envy, right up until the moment tragedy struck.  Suddenly, Rory's sister was dead, and a man accused of murder.  Rory attempts to move on with her life, but finds herself sharing an odd psychic connection with the accused man, as he attempts to clear his name.

I really felt this book was well written.  I felt that Rory's character, in particular, was really well developed.  I felt connected to her, and could really see the action of the story in my mind.  The writing is very vivid, and appeals to the reader.

I really liked that the book wove together a traditional crime thriller storyline with a paranormal storyline.  It made for something unusual and intriguing.  I feel like the book will appear to a variety of readers by crossing genres. All in all, this was a really solid thriller.

I received a review copy courtesy of TLC Book Tours in exchange for my honest review.  See the rest of the tour here.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

My Thinning Years; Starving the Gay Within, by Jon Derek Croteau

From an early age, Jon felt different.  He preferred playing with the girls and hated sports.  His father, determined to make a "real man" out of him, belittled Jon's sensitive ways, bullied him into sports, and criticized his physical appearance.  As a result, Jon grew up in total fear of his father, of his own sexuality, and of being fat.  These issues morphed into a full scale eating disorder, fueled by self loathing and internalized homophobia.  For all if his adult life, Jon would struggle.

Oh goodness, this book made me rage, and weep, and rejoice.  Jon does a beautiful job of sharing his story in a way that is honest and genuine.  I did not feel the intention with the writing was to demonize his father, yet I raged over the kind of person his father was.  It breaks my heart to know that any child is emotionally abused in such a manner; this is abuse, and it has real, lasting consequences.  I applaud Jon for the hard work he has done to overcome his abusive past, to seek happiness and healing, and to make difficult but healthy choices in his life.

We constantly hear of young people developing severe emotional issues, engaging in self harm, and attempting suicide, all because of being abused and bullied.  It is important that we continue to spread the message that you can overcome these types of situations.  It will not be easy, and it will probably be painful and unpleasant, but it is possible, and you are worth it.   I am so thankful that Jon has become the strong, eloquent survivor he is, and that he has chosen to share his story.  We often hear of females who have eating disorders, but the reality is, males are also plagued by these issues.  Jon has given voice to an overlooked group, and probably has helped save a few lives in the process.  I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

I received a review copy courtesy of TLC Book Tours in exchange for my honest review.  See the rest of the tour here.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

The Hexed, by Heather Graham

In his youth, Rocky not only had to deal with the death of a friend, he was the one who found her body.  Now a member of an elite FBI team that deals with unusual situations, Rocky has returned to his hometown area of Salem to investigate a series of murders identical to that of his childhood friend.  Are the murders are related to each other, and to the witchy past of Salem?

I was absolutely fascinated by this book!  I love that the story centers around a real historic area, and weaves a lot of historic fact into the plot.  I also like that the story did not take the easy way out, making the culprit someone obvious or simply blaming the paranormal.  The plot was very strong, and well written.  I was engaged from the first page.

The character development was good, but I would have liked to either see a little bit more development, or a little less characters.  I know we needed a large cast, to serve as red herrings, but some of the people who were not obvious suspects just seemed to muddy things a little, and make it hard to keep people straight.  Also, I could have done without the romance aspect of the book.  I think the thriller and paranormal aspects of the plot were strong enough to carry the story, the romance seemed like it was an afterthought to try to appeal to romance fans.  

All in all, I found the book really well written, and very unique.  I am looking forward to reading more from this author!

I received a review copy courtesy of TLC Book Tours, in exchange for my honest review.  See the rest of the tour here.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Monster Realm, by Nara Duffie

For as long as she can remember, Lillian has loved mythology stories, and the "monsters" that appear in them. When her sister, Bluebell, goes missing, Lillian realizes that those stories may be more fact than fiction, and life as she knows it may change forever.

I cannot even begin to express how impressed I was with this book. The author, Nara Duffie, completed this book 11 days before her 11th birthday. Yes, you read that correctly! She was 10 when she wrote this. Actually, she started writing it much earlier than that, and took her time polishing and perfecting it. You can tell that this book was written with a tremendous amount of dedication and precision. The characters are very well developed, and the back story unfolds brilliantly in the middle of the present action. I thought the book was full of rich imagery, and I admire the author's imagination.

This book will really appeal to fans of books like Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. I think it is a wonderful book for both young adult and adult readers. Do not let the author's young age deter you; this is better writing than I have seen from may seasoned, adult authors. Bravo Nara!